1. Inhalt
  2. Navigation
  3. Weitere Inhalte
  4. Metanavigation
  5. Suche
  6. Choose from 30 Languages

European Union (EU)

The European Union is an economic and political union of 28 member states. It has a population of over 500 million; Germany is its largest member.

The founding members of the bloc were Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany, who signed the Treaty of Rome in 1957. The Maastricht Treaty established the European Union under its current name in 1993.

Show more articles